The Kiwanis Club of Lindenhurst was chartered April 5, 1950.
One of our founding members, the Hon. Arthur M. Cromarty, served the Kiwanis Club of Lindenhurst with distinction
until his passing in 2015. Judge Cromarty was a Justice of the Supreme Court of the State of New York and the court complex
in Riverhead bears his name. He is pictured here 6th from the end on the top row.
The Six Objects
The Six Objects of Kiwanis remain one of the enduring hallmarks of our organization.
• To give primacy to the human and spiritual rather than to the material values of life.
• To encourage the daily living of the Golden Rule in all human relationships.
• To promote the adoption and the application of higher social, business and professional standards.
• To develop by precept and example, a more intelligent, aggressive and serviceable citizenship.
• To provide through Kiwanis clubs a practical means to form enduring friendships, to render altruistic service and to build better communities.
• To cooperate in creating and maintaining that sound public opinion and high idealism which make possible the increase of righteousness, justice, patriotism and goodwill.
• Since its founding in 1950, the Kiwanis Club of Lindenhurst has enjoyed the fellowship of over 500 members
• We have sent over 250 children to Kamp Kiwanis in Rome, NY for a summer vacation of fun, fellowship and exercise
• Since the establishment of our scholarship fund in 1961, we have awarded over $467,000 to 290 local high school seniors.
Walter R. Gayer Kiwanis Memorial Park
At a 1982 Kiwanis interclub meeting between the Lindenhurst and Amityville Clubs, Nick Lobue of the Lindenhurst Club spoke to Walter
Gayer of the Amityville Club about the possibility of buying the property on which the Memorial now stands from Walter's father,
Francis Gayer. The intention at that time was to set up a Lindenhurst community bulletin board and information center.
Walter Gayer sadly passed away on December 24th, 1984. Over the subsequent years, Nick Lobue maintained an ongoing
dialogue with Edna May Gayer (Walter's wife) regarding the property. Finally, on June 21st, 1991, Francis Gayer agreed to donate
the property with the understanding that the Memorial be named after his late son, Walter R. Gayer. The agreement was formally
signed by then President Larry Troiano on September 25th, 1991.
A Building Committee was subsequently formed and Nicholas J. Lobue was appointed Chairman. The following members
were also chosen to serve on the Committee: George Bryant, Mark Dawson, Alan Kayton, John Plevritis, Mike Rosen and Larry
Troiano. Lindenhurst Kiwanian Hugo Mascari volunteered to be the architect for the design of the Memorial.
Several other individuals also donated their time and energies towards the completion of this project. Non Kiwanian
Richard Drake donated his time and skills as property surveyor. Former Lindenhurst Kiwanian Floyd Chiwis constructed and
donated the Kiwanis International emblem that graces the top of the Memorial.
With the exception of the iron works and the granite, Non Kiwanian Randy Augusiewicz donated the complete construction
which included the Monument's footings, bricks, blocks, cement, sidewalks, curbs, electrical service, lights, landfill, sprinkler system,
initial landscaping and all associated labor. Randy donated this in memory of his father, Eugene Augusiewicz, a Lindenhurst businessman
and a Uniondale Kiwanian.